vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Designing hardware that uses VLSI Solution's devices as slave codecs such as an external MP3 decoder chip for a host microcontroller.
Post Reply
rlysens
User
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu 2016-01-21 23:24

vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Post by rlysens » Fri 2017-02-10 2:16

Hi all,

I have two identical VS1063 based setups running a sine test:

void test5_loop(void) {
uint8_t activateData[] = {0x53, 0xEF, 0x6E, 0x44, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0};
uint8_t deactivateData[] = {0x45, 0x78, 0x69, 0x74, 0, 0, 0, 0};

WriteSdi(activateData, sizeof(activateData)/sizeof(activateData[0]));
delay( 500 );
WriteSdi(deactivateData, sizeof(deactivateData)/sizeof(deactivateData[0]));
delay( 500 );
PLF_PRINT(".");
}


One works fine. On the other one, the output volume is so low that I can't hear the tone with an earphone. I can faintly hear it when I feed the signal through a an amplifier (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11044), which suggests that at a digital/software level things are more or less OK.

SCI_VOL is set to 0x0.
SCI_MODE is set as follows:
WriteSci(SCI_MODE, SM_SDINEW|SM_RESET|SM_TESTS|SM_DIFF);
(I have experimented with/without SM_DIFF but that doesn't seem to make a difference).

I'm running the latest firmware patch.

Any ideas what could be wrong here? Did I destroy the output stage of the 'bad' setup? Entirely possible when you give a soldering iron to a software guy.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Best regards,
Ruben.

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Post by pasi » Mon 2017-02-13 12:40

Possibly a short-circuit on the analog outputs causes the short-circuit protection to trigger, which turns off the analog drivers.

Check and fix possible short-circuits, and the chip will likely still work.
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

rlysens
User
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu 2016-01-21 23:24

Re: vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Post by rlysens » Thu 2017-02-16 1:06

Hi Pasi,

It turns out the PCB traces for both the right and left outputs were damaged. I was able to fix the problem for the right output so the board is usable again.
Thanks for your help!
Ruben.

Post Reply