vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Designing hardware that uses VLSI Solution's devices as slave codecs such as an external MP3 decoder chip for a host microcontroller.
rlysens
User
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu 2016-01-21 23:24

vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Postby rlysens » Fri 2017-02-10 2:16

Hi all,

I have two identical VS1063 based setups running a sine test:

void test5_loop(void) {
uint8_t activateData[] = {0x53, 0xEF, 0x6E, 0x44, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0 ,0 ,0 ,0 ,0};
uint8_t deactivateData[] = {0x45, 0x78, 0x69, 0x74, 0, 0, 0, 0};

WriteSdi(activateData, sizeof(activateData)/sizeof(activateData[0]));
delay( 500 );
WriteSdi(deactivateData, sizeof(deactivateData)/sizeof(deactivateData[0]));
delay( 500 );
PLF_PRINT(".");
}


One works fine. On the other one, the output volume is so low that I can't hear the tone with an earphone. I can faintly hear it when I feed the signal through a an amplifier (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11044), which suggests that at a digital/software level things are more or less OK.

SCI_VOL is set to 0x0.
SCI_MODE is set as follows:
WriteSci(SCI_MODE, SM_SDINEW|SM_RESET|SM_TESTS|SM_DIFF);
(I have experimented with/without SM_DIFF but that doesn't seem to make a difference).

I'm running the latest firmware patch.

Any ideas what could be wrong here? Did I destroy the output stage of the 'bad' setup? Entirely possible when you give a soldering iron to a software guy.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Best regards,
Ruben.

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1279
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Postby pasi » Mon 2017-02-13 12:40

Possibly a short-circuit on the analog outputs causes the short-circuit protection to trigger, which turns off the analog drivers.

Check and fix possible short-circuits, and the chip will likely still work.
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

rlysens
User
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu 2016-01-21 23:24

Re: vs1063a sine test, extremely low output volume

Postby rlysens » Thu 2017-02-16 1:06

Hi Pasi,

It turns out the PCB traces for both the right and left outputs were damaged. I was able to fix the problem for the right output so the board is usable again.
Thanks for your help!
Ruben.


Return to “Slave Decoder Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users