Unable to write SCI_STATUS (please check my schematic)

Designing hardware that uses VLSI Solution's devices as slave codecs such as an external MP3 decoder chip for a host microcontroller.
Post Reply
rogozhin
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 2023-01-08 13:19

Unable to write SCI_STATUS (please check my schematic)

Post by rogozhin »

Dear friends, I tried to make a WiFi radio board myself based on the ESP32 module and the VS1053B chip, but it did not work for me
I have error in boot log ESP32 at initialization VS1053:

Unable to write SCI_STATUS

As i understand i have some hardware failure (the chip is not correctly powered up, not correctly connected and so on) and VS1053 register STATUS is 0x000 or 0xFFFF :roll:
Please help me to find an error in the VS1053 wiring diagram.

Part code of VS1053 library for ESP32:

Code: Select all

voidAudio::setVUmeter() {
   if(!VS_PATCH_ENABLE) return;
   uint16_t MP3Status = read_register(SCI_STATUS);
   if(MP3Status==0) {
     Serial.println("VS1053 Error: Unable to write SCI_STATUS");
     _vuInitalized = false;
     return;
   }
   _vuInitalized = true;
   write_register(SCI_STATUS, MP3Status | _BV(9));
}
scheme.jpg
scheme.jpg (1.81 MiB) Viewed 645 times
P.S.This is my first experience in creating a PCB for digital devices. Please do not scold too much)
User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 2053
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: Unable to write SCI_STATUS (please check my schematic)

Post by pasi »

- Is xRESET high? (I.e. is ESP driving EN high?)
- Does the code wait for DREQ to go high?
- Is RCAP at 1.2V?
- Is the oscillator running? 33pF C6/C7 might be too large depending on the crystal
Edit: - XDCS is high (and XCS low) during SCI operations?

See also: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=58
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook
Hannu
VLSI Staff
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon 2016-05-30 11:54
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Unable to write SCI_STATUS (please check my schematic)

Post by Hannu »

I hope that the AGND - GND jumper is closed and nidely near or under the chip.

Is the patch uploaded already at the time when that code is executed?
rogozhin
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 2023-01-08 13:19

Re: Unable to write SCI_STATUS (please check my schematic)

Post by rogozhin »

Thank you very much Hannu and pasi! With your help i found a bug in my schema :D
The changes that I made:
- remove R2 resistor
- C6, C7 33p changed to 22p
- remove R6 resistor
Post Reply