vs1063 codec mode

Designing hardware that uses VLSI Solution's devices as slave codecs such as an external MP3 decoder chip for a host microcontroller.
chendong3160
Senior User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 2011-10-20 5:03

vs1063 codec mode

Post by chendong3160 » Wed 2016-12-28 9:08

hi
i use one mcu control two 1063, Share one SPI, Select chip through XDC XDCS。
But now found a problem, when a 1063 working in the MP3 encoding mode, the other one works in CODEC mode, working in the CODEC mode chip decoding function is not normal, there is a noise. Only when the work in the MP3 mode 1063 stop, the noise will disappear.
Thank you!

User avatar
Henrik
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 14:10

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by Henrik » Tue 2017-01-17 11:55

Hello!

Can you share us a schematics, and/or the values you write to SCI_MODE and other registers?

Kind regards,
- Henrik
Good signatures never die. They just fade away.

chendong3160
Senior User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 2011-10-20 5:03

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by chendong3160 » Fri 2017-01-20 10:16

hi:
i want to know, when then chip working on codec mode, can i set XDC and XDCS hight level select one chips?
Because I use a CPU to drive multiple chips, but I know in the decoding mode is ok。
thanks!

User avatar
Henrik
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 14:10

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by Henrik » Fri 2017-01-20 13:07

Hello!
chendong3160 wrote:i want to know, when then chip working on codec mode, can i set XDC and XDCS hight level select one chips?
Because I use a CPU to drive multiple chips, but I know in the decoding mode is ok。
Yes, if you set XDS and XDCS high, and if register SCI_MODE bit SM_SDISHARED = 0 and SM_SDINEW = 1, then VS1063 will ignore anything happening on the SPI bus, and you can use it for other devices.

Kind regards,
- Henrik
Good signatures never die. They just fade away.

chendong3160
Senior User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 2011-10-20 5:03

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by chendong3160 » Mon 2017-02-06 8:53

Hello,
I set sci_mode register is 0x0800, But still not.

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1670
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by pasi » Mon 2017-02-06 12:15

I wonder what kind of noise it is.

Are you feeding data quickly enough to the vs1063 that is operating in the codec mode? If you don't feed the data often enough, the codec mode may have a data underflow, and the underflow can be heard as disturbance in the output.
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

chendong3160
Senior User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 2011-10-20 5:03

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by chendong3160 » Wed 2017-02-08 10:14

Hello.
I found the problem , the noise is happen when encode chip read data from register SCI_HDAT0.

chendong3160
Senior User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 2011-10-20 5:03

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by chendong3160 » Wed 2017-02-08 13:48

I don't think it's too slow to send data,because I don't send data to chip when codec mode, It's ni noise. the noise happen only when the other chip
work on encode mode. I think the codec chip recv the encode chip data when the encode chip oprtate register.

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1670
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by pasi » Wed 2017-02-08 13:52

Check that only one xCS is asserted at a time.
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

chendong3160
Senior User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu 2011-10-20 5:03

Re: vs1063 codec mode

Post by chendong3160 » Thu 2017-02-09 5:07

Hello.
I test when chip work on codec mode , the sdi recv data although set scs and xdcs high level. Have you tested this?

Post Reply