Page 1 of 1

Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Thu 2019-06-06 15:36
by Berry
hello

Where can I find the schematic symbol & PCB view for VS1003B-L? (3D model would be nice too.) I couldn't find those anywhere after searching your website, forum, and on ultralibrarian.com. I need those for use with Altium Designer .


Thanks,
Berry

Re: Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Fri 2019-06-07 7:25
by Hannu
We have Eagle package available: http://www.vlsi.fi/fileadmin/manuals_gu ... e7_lib.zip

As far I can tell, Altium can import Eagle files. You can use LQFP-48 package as model. It is standard.

Re: Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Fri 2019-06-07 20:07
by Berry
Hi Hannu

I opened the files but it looks like it's a different chip. It appears to be a memory chip, not the VS1003B-L.

Also, do you know of a tool that accepts a standard package type and automatically generates a basic 3D model based on that ?

Thanks,
Berry

Re: Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Tue 2019-06-11 8:04
by Hannu
Hi Berry,

Component you are looking at is VS23S010D-S. And it is memory. There should be all chips which VLSI makes in that library, including VS1003.
add_vs1003.png
Screenshot of adding VS1003 in Eagle
add_vs1003.png (113.78 KiB) Viewed 144 times
I don't know that much about 3D CADs or Altium, but you can take almost any LQFP48 component and use its 3D model as long as its package meets your tolerances. Usually there is some copy paste or connect model to component functionality available in CAD components. Or you can model the LQFP48 package based on these drawings: http://www.vlsi.fi/fileadmin/quality/LQ ... _rev_M.pdf

Re: Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Tue 2019-06-11 11:47
by Berry
Hi Hannu

It's strange, I only see that one cell in the library and nothing else, please see attached. I'm using Altium CircuitStudio, not Altium Designer, I wonder if that's a factor. At any rate, I was able to find the model on Library Loader (https://componentsearchengine.com/searc ... source=255)

Thanks,
Beraa

Re: Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Tue 2019-07-09 22:24
by Berry
Hi Hannu

Sorry to bring this thread back to life. While doing one last audit of the model downloaded from SamacSys (https://componentsearchengine.com/searc ... source=255), I noticed the model they have has some serious errors and doesn't match against the datasheet. For example:

1. Pin 20 should be "DGND" according to datasheet, but in fact is labelled "IOVDD"
2. Pin 23 should be "XCS" according to the datasheet, but in fact is labelled "DGND". There is no "XCS" anywhere on the schematic!

There could be more, didn't complete the audit and I've notified SamacSys of this.

Could you please check the link you provided earlier and download from there yourself to confirm what's contained in it? I downloaded again just to confirm on my end (http://www.vlsi.fi/fileadmin/manuals_gu ... e7_lib.zip) and again I only see one cell and it's not VS1003, it's a memory cell.

Thanks!

Re: Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Wed 2019-07-10 7:24
by Hannu
Hi!

I Checked that library. It has VS1003.

I took VS1003 from the web pack and saved it to own library. Hopefully this helps. And you get the power and groud pins. There might be the next issue as they are behind invoke symbol... But let's fix that if this library doesn't help.

Re: Schematic & PCB view for VS1003B-L

Posted: Thu 2019-07-11 17:01
by Berry
Hi Hannu

Actually, I found a way to view the VS1003 even in the original Eagle library you pointed to! If I just open the library normally using "File --> Open Library" it will automatically just open one component and give no option to traverse the library to find other components, giving me the impression that only one component exists and nothing else. However, I noticed today that if I do the same from the Libraries GUI instead, it does show all VLSI Solutions chips under that new library! I also opened the file you attached in the last post and confirmed it's there as well. However for both, as you suspected, the power/ground pins are not displayed and despite multiple attempts, I couldn't' display them on my end. I believe you would need to unhide them on your end from behind the invoke symbol before releasing.


Fyi, SamacSys (which is the library provider for Mouser) emailed me that they've now fixed the issue and re-published. I will re-verify that as well.

Thanks again!