VS1011e problems

Designing hardware that uses VLSI Solution's devices as slave codecs such as an external MP3 decoder chip for a host microcontroller.
Post Reply
aothman
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 2011-08-18 7:57

VS1011e problems

Post by aothman » Thu 2011-08-18 8:34

Hi,

A few months ago I managed to implement the sine test on a VS1011e interfaced to a Pic18lf4550 in a circuit I have put together on a bread board. However, comming back to this project since then, I am unable to get the VS1011e function.

In reading the VS10XX Application Notes, section 4.2 states:
Measure voltage of RCAP, it should be about 1.3 V. If it is 0 V or the same as operating voltage, there is a problem with VS10XX’s analog parts.
When I measure RCAP, it is pretty much 0V. Does this mean the chip is dead?

I am using the hello.c example as a reference. I have used the same settings except changed the CLOCKF to 0x9800 for my 12.288MHz crystal, which is not oscillating right now either.

User avatar
Panu
VLSI Staff. Currently on holiday.
Posts: 2736
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 13:43

Re: VS1011e problems

Post by Panu » Thu 2011-08-18 9:38

Hi!

I think that to get 1.3V on GBUF in VS1011e, you only need to provide DVDD, AVDD, Clock and Reset. No writes to registers should be necessary.

The voltage should be within limits (for example 2.7 volts is safe for all voltages in vs1011e).

Please check if you can find some good hints at the "MCU Howto" link in my signature below. ( viewtopic.php?f=10&t=58 )

Good luck!
-Panu
Info: Line In and Line Out, VS1000 User interface, Overlay howto, Latest VSIDE, MCU Howto, Youtube
Panu-Kristian Poiksalo, VLSI Solution Oy

aothman
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 2011-08-18 7:57

Re: VS1011e problems

Post by aothman » Sat 2011-08-20 12:42

Thank you Panu for your response.

I believe I somehow fried my chip. I used to get the 1.25V on RCAp and now nothing. Also, there is no activity on DREQ and the crystal is not oscillating.

I watched XCS, XDCS and XRESET on an oscilliscope and they seem to be doing what my code wants them to do.

Anyways, I have ordered a VS1011 breakout board and will go from there.

Thanks again.

User avatar
Panu
VLSI Staff. Currently on holiday.
Posts: 2736
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 13:43

Re: VS1011e problems

Post by Panu » Tue 2011-08-23 7:45

Hi!

Ok.. hmmh, what could have happened to the IC..? I hope you didn't connect it to 5V... And VS1011 doesn't tolerate short circuiting GBUF to ground for extended periods. Also if you connect to external amplifiers, DC blocking capacitors should be used.. in the worst case there is 55 or 115 volts difference between two devices that are both connected to the electricity grid without ground contacts.. that can fry chips quite gloriously.

-Panu
Info: Line In and Line Out, VS1000 User interface, Overlay howto, Latest VSIDE, MCU Howto, Youtube
Panu-Kristian Poiksalo, VLSI Solution Oy

Post Reply