VS1010D sometimes does not see SPI memory.

Designing hardware and software for systems that use the VS1010 MP3 Audio DSP Microcontroller.
Post Reply
Arek
Senior User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu 2016-09-01 10:58

VS1010D sometimes does not see SPI memory.

Post by Arek » Mon 2018-10-22 19:37

Hi
A new problem.
Configuration: my program is placed on SPI, Soundtracs on SD.
After switching on, sometimes VS does not see SPI memory and starts in auto-play mode.
Does anyone know the reason for such behavior?

Typical start:
C#0d1d
VS1010D VSOS 4.20
Files:6. Buffers:3.
Runlevel 7
SPIF:c214, 2048K

SD:120 MiB

Runlevel 7 MyMP3
AMP3 START
and bad one:
C#0d1d
VS1010D VSOS 4.20
Files:6. Buffers:3.
Runlevel 7
SPIF:ffff, none.

SD:120 MiB

User avatar
Panu
VLSI Staff
Posts: 2649
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 13:43

Re: VS1010D sometimes does not see SPI memory.

Post by Panu » Mon 2018-10-22 20:26

Runlevel 7, why? Is it a developer board? Is there a bad solder connection on the board? It should say runlevel 15 if it is the VS1010 developer board. Or is it your own board?

The runlevel is determined by the biasing of SPI0 pins, the same bus to where your SPI flash is connected, that's why I suspect a bad connection on one of those pins.


-Panu
Info: Line In and Line Out, VS1000 User interface, Overlay howto, Latest VSIDE, MCU Howto, Youtube
Panu-Kristian Poiksalo, VLSI Solution Oy

Arek
Senior User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu 2016-09-01 10:58

Re: VS1010D sometimes does not see SPI memory.

Post by Arek » Mon 2018-10-22 21:24

Hi Panu,

I have my own board.
Runlevel 7 because my program is in SPI memory placed.

Good idea is to check/change the resistors. Thank you

Arek
Senior User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu 2016-09-01 10:58

Re: VS1010D sometimes does not see SPI memory.

Post by Arek » Tue 2018-10-23 17:27

Hi,

With 100k pull up/pull down works well.

Thx

User avatar
Panu
VLSI Staff
Posts: 2649
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 13:43

Re: VS1010D sometimes does not see SPI memory.

Post by Panu » Tue 2018-10-23 20:36

Hi!

Ok, so problem solved now?

-Panu
Info: Line In and Line Out, VS1000 User interface, Overlay howto, Latest VSIDE, MCU Howto, Youtube
Panu-Kristian Poiksalo, VLSI Solution Oy

Arek
Senior User
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu 2016-09-01 10:58

Re: VS1010D sometimes does not see SPI memory.

Post by Arek » Wed 2018-10-24 16:46

Yes, thank you.

Arek

Post Reply