Page 1 of 1

VS1053: amplitude too big for amplifier

Posted: Thu 2016-03-24 22:05
by zulunation
Hello,

I'm using vs1053 decoder with an amplifier. The problem is that the maximum amplitude that my amplifier can apply is 100mV and the Peak to Peak value for vs1053 is 1.83 V.
Is there any way to lover the amplitude using hardware technique not the software?
I understand that we simple can reduce the volume on initialization to make the output 100mV but the better way would be to scale the dynamic range of decoder. Maybe some attenuation could be used?
Thanks,

Re: VS1053: amplitude too big for amplifier

Posted: Mon 2016-03-28 20:51
by Panu
Use a resistor divide to bring down the voltage?

-Panu

Re: VS1053: amplitude too big for amplifier

Posted: Thu 2017-04-27 10:56
by aftab_s81
Is there a way to determine audio amplitude (volume) while audio file is being played?

Re: VS1053: amplitude too big for amplifier

Posted: Thu 2017-04-27 12:30
by pasi
aftab_s81 wrote:Is there a way to determine audio amplitude (volume) while audio file is being played?
The vs1053b Patches Package contains a VU meter. See http://www.vlsi.fi/en/support/software/ ... tches.html

VS1063a has VU meter built-in - see the parametric_x structure chapter of the datasheet.

You need to combine the VU meter value and the current volume setting to see the actual output level.

Re: VS1053: amplitude too big for amplifier

Posted: Fri 2017-05-26 17:46
by testi
Attachment test by Panu, pls. don't delete for now.