Page 1 of 1

EQ Plugin for Analog Input?

Posted: Fri 2020-09-04 12:11
by bayviewboom
Can the EQ plugin process analog audio input? Or only digital input?
http://www.vlsi.fi/fileadmin/software/V ... 3b-peq.pdf

thx

Re: EQ Plugin for Analog Input?

Posted: Thu 2020-09-10 9:30
by Henrik
Hello!
bayviewboom wrote:
Fri 2020-09-04 12:11
Can the EQ plugin process analog audio input? Or only digital input?
http://www.vlsi.fi/fileadmin/software/V ... 3b-peq.pdf
This EQ Plugin is primarily intended for adjusting the output of digital audio files. Because it has to coexist with all the decoders, it has been written with CPU consumption in mind. So, while it might be able to use it to adjust audio in the encoder mode, for an analog-input-and-output solution I recommend you to use the " VS1053b / VS1063a Equalizer" Application.

Kind regards,
- Henrik

Re: EQ Plugin for Analog Input?

Posted: Thu 2020-09-10 15:35
by bayviewboom
Hi! Many thanks for that!

Then it's surprising to me that the plug-in offers twice as many filters (40). I guess it's because there's no ADC's eating up the processor.

With the EQ application, Can I connect the digital Out of Left to the digital In of Right to obtain 40 mono filters? (without intermediate conversion to analog).

Which pins? Can I route it by setting registers, without touching pins?

Thx!

Re: EQ Plugin for Analog Input?

Posted: Fri 2020-09-11 15:06
by Henrik
bayviewboom wrote:
Thu 2020-09-10 15:35
Hi! Many thanks for that!

Then it's surprising to me that the plug-in offers twice as many filters (40). I guess it's because there's no ADC's eating up the processor.
The reason for the lower number of filters in the VS1053b / VS1063a Equalizer is the higher quality of the filters.
bayviewboom wrote:
Thu 2020-09-10 15:35
With the EQ application, Can I connect the digital Out of Left to the digital In of Right to obtain 40 mono filters? (without intermediate conversion to analog).

Which pins? Can I route it by setting registers, without touching pins?
Wait, we are now talking going digital? I am getting confused really quickly.

Let's slow down a bit.

How about we start from the beginning? Could you describe exactly what functionality you are looking for in your system? Then, together, we could look for the best way to reach your goal.

Kind regards,
- Henrik

Re: EQ Plugin for Analog Input?

Posted: Fri 2020-09-11 18:24
by bayviewboom
Sorry for confusing.

My objective is a mono parametric equalizer, with analog input, analog output. The EQ Application (not plugin) seems the only option for this.

The EQ Application offers 22 stereo bands. But my requirement is mono, not stereo. So i'm wondering if i can use both channels to obtain 44 band, like this:

Image