VS1000 audio module???

Writing software that controls the system and peripherals such as displays, SD cards, Buttons, LEDs, Serial Ports etc.
Post Reply
dzairo
User
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 2011-09-19 11:17

VS1000 audio module???

Post by dzairo » Sat 2012-03-17 16:40

Hi.
I have my application and work but have problem with R7,R10 resistor.
I must remove this resistor. But now core still start with 1.8V DVDD , but I need set 3.3V DVDD.
how to software define this ???
don't detect state in pin GPIO0_7 set always 3.3V .

and GPIO0_6 is used for detect : pull-down resistor for USB Mass Storage Device, pull-up for USB Audio Device
how to disable this or doesn't matter what is state if don't use USB???

best regards
Last edited by dzairo on Sat 2012-03-17 16:50, edited 2 times in total.

dzairo
User
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 2011-09-19 11:17

Re: VS1000 audio module???

Post by dzairo » Sat 2012-03-17 18:22

I try this :

//voltages[voltCorePlayer] = voltages[voltCoreUSB] = 27;//27;
voltages[voltIoUSB] = voltages[voltIoPlayer] = 27; /* 3.3V */
//voltages[voltAnaPlayer] = 30; /*3.6V for high-current MMC/SD!*/
PowerSetVoltages(&voltages[voltIoUSB]);
PowerSetVoltages(&voltages[voltIoPlayer]);
PowerSetVoltages(&voltages[voltCorePlayer]);

but not solved my problem.
is it possible or no.

best regards

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: VS1000 audio module???

Post by pasi » Sun 2012-03-18 1:50

The audio module should set 3.6V IO voltage by default, because it has a pull-up on GPIO0_7 (VS1000C/B sets 3.6V, VS1000D would set 3.3V). If you are pulling the pin low, the module may start with 1.8V IO voltage. If you keep xReset asserted, the voltages stay low until you release the reset signal.

If you connect external stuff to GPIO0_7, change the polarity so that it will be high during power-on/reset.

PowerSetVoltages always takes a 3-element array pointer as a parameter, the first one is core voltage. So only use:
PowerSetVoltages(&voltages[voltCorePlayer]); or
PowerSetVoltages(&voltages[voltCoreUSB]); or
PowerSetVoltages(&voltages[voltCoreSuspend]); or
PowerSetVoltages(&voltages[voltCoreUser]);

If you try to fix the IO voltage with the player code, note that the SPI FLASH may not perform correctly with 1.8V voltage, so your software may never get executed.

GPIO0_6 is read only at the moment when USB gets attached, and the default audio mode software always goes into mass storage mode, so it is ignored.
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

dzairo
User
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 2011-09-19 11:17

Re: VS1000 audio module???

Post by dzairo » Sun 2012-03-18 22:08

Hi Pasi.
Thanks for your reply. What logic state is on GPIO0_0 to 7 define user used BCD switch.
But I can define short time in GPIO0_7 to logic 1. IF VS1000 is in Off state and I power module with toggle POWERBUT to log 1, what is minimum time to pull-up GPIO0_7 to log 1 to set voltage to 3.3 or 3.6V??

what happened if connect 3.3V line with DVDD??? what is broken?? why is not SPI flash powered from 3.3V regulator??? and why SD card is not powered from DVDD if SPI flash possible?

there is not possible to change firmware in MCU VS1000 to default start with 3.3V ?

Minimum time I need to know, what I need to define in GPIO0_7 after power module.

thanks and best regards.

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1625
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: VS1000 audio module???

Post by pasi » Sun 2012-03-18 23:28

dzairo wrote:what is minimum time to pull-up GPIO0_7 to log 1 to set voltage to 3.3 or 3.6V??
GPIO0_7 state is read immediately after the oscillator has started after power-on reset. It takes probably a few milliseconds. Then the voltages are changed and boot continues after 10ms of delay. If you have an oscilloscope you can verify the time from power on to raise of the voltages. (CVDD and AVDD also change.)
dzairo wrote:what happened if connect 3.3V line with DVDD??? what is broken?? why is not SPI flash powered from 3.3V regulator??? and why SD card is not powered from DVDD if SPI flash possible?
SD card is powered from a separate regulator because the new high-speed cards take massive amounts of current when initializing, reading or writing. The internal IOVDD regulator of VS1000 is not able to give that amount of power.

However, the IOVDD regulator can provide power for a limited number of peripherals, and SPI EEPROM / SPI FLASH / NAND FLASH can be powered from it easily. This way in majority of applications you don't need any external regulators, just VS1000.

You can connect IOVDD and 3V3, but the uSD regulator in VS1000 Audio Module is only turned on after a SD card is detected from the uSD socket switch, which may be too late?
dzairo wrote:there is not possible to change firmware in MCU VS1000 to default start with 3.3V ?
The behavior is in ROM, so it can not be changed.
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

dzairo
User
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 2011-09-19 11:17

Re: VS1000 audio module???

Post by dzairo » Mon 2012-03-19 2:04

Hi and thanks Pasi for full answer.
I try redefine timing of my code in my mcu.
thanks
best regards.

Post Reply