Load Plugin from Flash?

Designing hardware that use VLSI Solution's devices as the system controller for the entire design.
Post Reply
bayviewboom
Senior User
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed 2019-11-27 9:49

Load Plugin from Flash?

Post by bayviewboom » Fri 2020-09-04 12:08

Can a plugin get loaded via SPI flash?

For example, can i load the plugin to the VS chip in the normal way (via uC or computer), as described in the docs.

http://www.vlsi.fi/fileadmin/software/V ... 3b-peq.pdf

Code: Select all

void WriteVS10xxRegister(unsigned short addr, unsigned short value);
void LoadUserCode(void) {...
And then, copy the entire RAM image from the VS chip, and burn it to flash.

User avatar
Henrik
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 14:10

Re: Load Plugin from Flash?

Post by Henrik » Thu 2020-09-10 9:58

Hello!
bayviewboom wrote:
Fri 2020-09-04 12:08
Can a plugin get loaded via SPI flash?

For example, can i load the plugin to the VS chip in the normal way (via uC or computer), as described in the docs.

http://www.vlsi.fi/fileadmin/software/V ... 3b-peq.pdf

Code: Select all

void WriteVS10xxRegister(unsigned short addr, unsigned short value);
void LoadUserCode(void) {...
And then, copy the entire RAM image from the VS chip, and burn it to flash.
This VS1053b Parametric EQ Plugin is intended to be loaded by the microcontroller. So, in this case, you load the latest VS1053b Patch Set using your microcontroller, then the VS1053b Parametric EQ Plugin (again using your microcontroller), then you play your MP3/FLAC/etc files and adjust the equalizer appropriately.

Kind regards,
- Henrik
Good signatures never die. They just fade away.

bayviewboom
Senior User
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed 2019-11-27 9:49

Re: Load Plugin from Flash?

Post by bayviewboom » Thu 2020-09-10 15:48

Ok, can I load the patches and plug-in to the VS using a uC, define filters,, I burn the resulting image to flash, and then boot from the flash?

Or would i still need an MCU to load that image into the VS on boot?

Could I borrow the boot sector of the EQ application (without the EQ application, just it's flash-boot sector), glue the above customised patch + PEQ + filters image to the end of the flash-boot sector, burn the resulting boot sector + patch + PEQ + filters image to flash, and boot from that without uC?

Thx!

User avatar
Henrik
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 14:10

Re: Load Plugin from Flash?

Post by Henrik » Fri 2020-09-11 14:52

bayviewboom wrote:
Thu 2020-09-10 15:48
Ok, can I load the patches and plug-in to the VS using a uC, define filters,, I burn the resulting image to flash, and then boot from the flash?

Or would i still need an MCU to load that image into the VS on boot?

Could I borrow the boot sector of the EQ application (without the EQ application, just it's flash-boot sector), glue the above customised patch + PEQ + filters image to the end of the flash-boot sector, burn the resulting boot sector + patch + PEQ + filters image to flash, and boot from that without uC?
Unfortunately it doesn't work that way. Applications and Plugins are essentially very different animals, requiring different "working environments".

Kind regards,
- Henrik
Good signatures never die. They just fade away.

bayviewboom
Senior User
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed 2019-11-27 9:49

Re: Load Plugin from Flash?

Post by bayviewboom » Fri 2020-09-11 22:04

thx!

Post Reply