VS1053/63 as SPI Master interfacing RF Chip

Designing hardware that use VLSI Solution's devices as the system controller for the entire design.
Post Reply
ottinger
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun 2011-12-04 23:01

VS1053/63 as SPI Master interfacing RF Chip

Post by ottinger » Wed 2012-06-06 15:46

Is it possible to hook up an SPI RF Chip to an VS1053/63 - where the VS1053/63 would be SPI Master and the RF Chip SPI Slave?

best wishes, georg

User avatar
Panu
VLSI Staff
Posts: 2798
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 13:43

Re: VS1053/63 as SPI Master interfacing RF Chip

Post by Panu » Thu 2012-06-07 10:54

Hi!

Yes, it's possible, but the SPI needs to be implemented in software. For transmission, something like 10-20 Mbit/s can be achieved. But of course, the software SPI transfer needs CPU time. What kind of application do you have in mind, how real-time critical is it and how fast is the data rate?

-Panu
Info: Line In and Line Out, VS1000 User interface, Overlay howto, Latest VSIDE, MCU Howto, Youtube
Panu-Kristian Poiksalo, VLSI Solution Oy

ottinger
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun 2011-12-04 23:01

Re: VS1053/63 as SPI Master interfacing RF Chip

Post by ottinger » Mon 2012-06-11 7:50

the application I am thinking of is a portable battery-powered receiver of a translation system.
The transmitter connected to a PC-like device streams something like 8 Languages over an RF Link.
Bandwidth per language would be around 16-24 kpbs.
The RF Chip could prefilter its Language - VS1053 would decode and convert the signal to analog.

At the moment I am just playing around how to do such receivers cost-efficiently (to equip one larger conference you would need around 500 devices)

I also had a look at VS1000, but - please correct me if I am wrong - has only 8kB IRAM available compared to 16kB IRAM on the VS1053/VS1063 devices.

best wishes, Georg

User avatar
Panu
VLSI Staff
Posts: 2798
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 13:43

Re: VS1053/63 as SPI Master interfacing RF Chip

Post by Panu » Fri 2012-06-15 9:53

Yes, that's right. But it would be enough for the job. VS1000 would be better because it has more powerful IO. Especially you can use the hardware SPI port for more efficient data transfers. With Vorbis as the codec, it would be very efficient.

-Panu
Info: Line In and Line Out, VS1000 User interface, Overlay howto, Latest VSIDE, MCU Howto, Youtube
Panu-Kristian Poiksalo, VLSI Solution Oy

Post Reply