No sound on VS1005 custom board

Discussion about writing software for VS1005 and the VSOS Operating System. Also posts about VS1005-related hardware design and device drivers should be posted here.
YuryShatz
Senior User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 2016-11-05 19:36

No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by YuryShatz » Sun 2018-09-09 17:13

Hello Panu

I guess this is similar to this thread viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2292

We are trying to run our custom board. Our program starts the decoder, it is decoding (or doing something) for the expected amount of time, and ends successfully saying "Decoder returns 0, 'ok'". But there is no sound.

Program is the same as we used on breakout board where it worked. We measured GBUF and it is 0.

We disabled all drivers except auodac. Simplified my program so that it only plays single file from system drive. Still no sound.

We went through the thread about VS1010 and tried to diagnose with dacinfo. However, PrintInterrupts does not compile for VS1005 and PrintAudioInfo crashes when calling AudioBufFree (perhaps address is incorrect). Is there DACINFO for VS1005?

Anyway, I made a very short version of dacinfo and added it to config.txt. We disabled all other drivers, and our program only initializes audio and starts the decoder. Here's what we are getting:
--- (first line in config.txt) ---

Load drivers, config 0...

Driver: S:dacinfo2.dl3... Global interrupts enabled, Int Encount: 0
DAC_VOL: 0101
ANA_CF1: 1840, analog/drivers enabled [L R GBUF DAC]: 0x4
DAC_SRC: 0x144000, sample rate is about 48000.0 Hz
stdaudioout=112c (972e is ROM default)
Write=236b (94c1 is AudioWrite)

Driver: auodac...

--- (after auodac) ---

Driver: S:dacinfo2.dl3... Global interrupts enabled, Int Encount: 0
DAC_VOL: 0101
ANA_CF1: 1848, analog/drivers enabled [L R GBUF DAC]: 0x4
DAC_SRC: 0x144000, sample rate is about 48000.0 Hz
stdaudioout=2056 (972e is ROM default)
Write=365e (94c1 is AudioWrite)

--- our program loaded ---
Load S:INIT.AP3...
263|1|Global interrupts enabled,
317|1|DAC_VOL: 0000
368|1|ANA_CF1: 1848,
419|1|analog/drivers enabled [L R GBUF DAC]: 0x4
473|1|DAC_SRC: 0x144000,
525|1|sample rate is about 48000.0 Hz
578|1|stdaudioout=2056 (972e is ROM default)
631|1|Write=365e (94c1 is AudioWrite)

--- LoadLibrary("audiodec") ---
713|1|Global interrupts enabled,
716|1|Int Encount: 0
768|1|DAC_VOL: 0000
819|1|ANA_CF1: 1848,
870|1|analog/drivers enabled [L R GBUF DAC]: 0x4
924|1|DAC_SRC: 0x144000,
976|1|sample rate is about 48000.0 Hz
1029|1|stdaudioout=2056 (972e is ROM default)
1082|1|Write=365e (94c1 is AudioWrite)

--- Set volume ---
1139|1|Global interrupts enabled,
1142|1|Int Encount: 0
1194|1|DAC_VOL: 0000
1245|1|ANA_CF1: 1848,
1296|1|analog/drivers enabled [L R GBUF DAC]: 0x4
1350|1|DAC_SRC: 0x144000,
1402|1|sample rate is about 48000.0 Hz
1455|1|stdaudioout=2056 (972e is ROM default)
1508|1|Write=365e (94c1 is AudioWrite)

-- Played a short mp3 file--

6716|1|Global interrupts enabled,
6719|1|Int Encount: 0
6771|1|DAC_VOL: a5a5
6822|1|ANA_CF1: 1848,
6873|1|analog/drivers enabled [L R GBUF DAC]: 0x4
6927|1|DAC_SRC: 0x137599,
6979|1|sample rate is about 44100.0 Hz
7032|1|stdaudioout=2056 (972e is ROM default)
7085|1|Write=365e (94c1 is AudioWrite)
Where do we go from here. Does it look like a hardware problem? Do the addresses look right? Is there dacinfo for vs1005?

Thanks a lot.

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by pasi » Mon 2018-09-10 11:18

If GBUF is 0, then also check
- RCAP voltage?
- AVDD voltage?
- Check for possible short-circuits in GBUF (and/or in LEFT and RIGHT).

(0x1848 in ANA_CF1 has DRV_ENA and DA_ENA set. What's in ANA_CF2?)
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

User avatar
Panu
VLSI Staff
Posts: 2585
Joined: Tue 2010-06-22 13:43

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by Panu » Mon 2018-09-10 12:13

Hi!

10 / 10 points for trying. Hmm, the dacinfo prints suprisingly relevant looking information, given that all the addresses are different in VS1010, and there are significant differences also in the ANA_CF registers. Making a VS1005 version is a good idea.

Can you share the schematic of your custom board? I hope that your GBUF is not connected to ground!

-Panu
Info: Line In and Line Out, VS1000 User interface, Overlay howto, Latest VSIDE, MCU Howto, Youtube
Panu-Kristian Poiksalo, VLSI Solution Oy

Andrey
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 2018-09-10 17:05

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by Andrey » Mon 2018-09-10 17:17

Hi Panu!

Here is schematics attached.
I didn't differ GND and AGND nets in schematics but kept them separate on PCB.

BR,
Andrey
Attachments
vs1005amp_based_v11_1.sch.pdf
(163.14 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

Andrey
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 2018-09-10 17:05

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by Andrey » Mon 2018-10-15 9:15

Hi All,
We do need some advise about device mentioned here. We have several pcb with IOVDD=1.8V, AVDD=2.5V, RCAP=GBUF=0.
I searched forum for IOVDD=1.8V and found this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2254&p=12098&hilit ... .75#p12098
But as you can see from schematics I attached to previous message, GPIO_07 should be high (and is) when power is On.
Any advise is highly appreciated.

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by pasi » Mon 2018-10-15 15:55

If RCAP is 0, but AVDD has voltage, then probably the reference has not been enabled, or some code has switched it off.

Could you print the content of ANA_CF2?
(Reference enable is bit 3 of ANA_CF2, and high reference select is bit 4.)

xRESET should probably have a capacitor to ground to delay coming out of reset.
A pull-up on RX is also virtually required to prevent a jump to a ROM monitor from noise on the RX line. (Connect to TX as a workaround.)
(30pF sounds high for the crystal - is the crystal starting oscillating reliably?)
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

YuryShatz
Senior User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 2016-11-05 19:36

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by YuryShatz » Tue 2018-10-16 9:54

Pasi and Panu

Thank you for your help. It seems that we have more than one defect on our boards which makes it confusing. We are going to manufacture the next series, now we are trying to correct as many errors as we can.

1) One board is (or was) almost ok, but did not sound due to short circuit.
2) Most boards have only 1.8 V on IOVDD. They also do not respond through UART (Perhaps voltage there is also insufficient)
3) We did not make pads for some important pins, which makes it hard, for instance, to make a full reset.

The problem (2) is what worries us the most because we don't understand what caused it and how to prevent it next time. Any ideas?

We'll design the next board and review it with you.

Thank you

User avatar
pasi
VLSI Staff
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu 2010-07-15 16:04

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by pasi » Tue 2018-10-16 10:59

2) is most probably because the oscillator is not running and the chip never comes out of reset. Try removing the capacitors from the oscillator circuit to see if the board wakes up then. (Like I said, 30pF sounds very high.)
Visit https://www.facebook.com/VLSISolution VLSI Solution on Facebook

YuryShatz
Senior User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat 2016-11-05 19:36

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by YuryShatz » Wed 2018-10-17 15:33

Thanks Pasi!

Andrey
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 2018-09-10 17:05

Re: No sound on VS1005 custom board

Post by Andrey » Fri 2018-10-19 13:07

Hi Pasi!
Do you mean C2 nad C4? Value of these capasitors is 30pF in diagrams of VS1005 Breakout Board, VS1005 Developer Board and VS1005 Amp board.
Anyway, thank you for advise!
Do you think 10...15pF will be OK?

Post Reply