VS1103 triggering synchronized wave clips using RT-MIDI meta

Writing software that inputs and/or outputs audio and performs DSP algorithms such as filters, new codecs or audio effects.
mart
User

VS1103 triggering synchronized wave clips using RT-MIDI meta

Post by mart »

Hello!

I'm totally new to DSPs in general and VSDSP in particular, and am hoping to determine the feasibility of a design for a VS1103 application involving real-time MIDI synchronized with the playback of small wave clips streamed from an attached external memory.

My goal is that software running on the system's main microcontroller can first upload small PCM/ADPCM clips into an SPI RAM that is also connected to the VS1103 chip during startup, and then afterwards would ideally use the RT-MIDI interface (over UART) both to play normal MIDI notes using the built-in functionality and interleave commands to trigger synchronized playback of the PCM/ADPCM audio clips from the RAM to produce music with effects that cannot be generated using MIDI alone.

From studying the VS1103 datasheet, the VS-DSP4 user's manual, and some discussions elsewhere in this forum I have learned the following which suggest to me that what I'm looking to do is plausible:
  • The VS1103 natively supports playback of both MIDI and PCM/ADPCM data at the same time, although typically as two separate input channels controlled separately by the host controller, rather than using MIDI messages to trigger Wave playback.
  • The VS1103 module illustrates connecting an SPI Flash to the four GPIO pins and, with the spimodule firmware, playing back wave content streamed from that SPI Flash. I'm assuming that I could connect an SPI SRAM instead and achieve a similar result with some custom firmware.